We want to make sure you understand and are aware of what you are buying and consuming.

In the market today, there is a variety of Olive Oils available. One must know what they are. We must know before we consume, what we are putting in our food. Primarily there are 5 grades of Olive Oil available in the market– Extra Virgin oil, Virgin oil, Refined Oil, Pure Olive Oil, and Olive Pomace Oil.

Extra-Virgin Olive Oil

  • It is extracted by the cold-pressing
  • Lower acidity content
  • Superior flavor and contain no more than 0.8 percent acidity
  • It retains most of the natural flavor and aroma
  • Most commonly used type of olive oil for health purposes

Virgin Olive Oil

  • If the olive oil has minimal defects and is found to have a free acidy between 0.8 and 2.0, it is graded as virgin. Virgin olive oil is NOT always of first pressing
  • Unrefined oil usually with slight defects of aroma or flavor
  • Lower chemical standards
  • Higher fatty acid levels

Refined Olive Oil

  • Refined olive oil usually has no taste or smell, and it will be light in color or even colourless.
  • Least amount of virgin olive oil
  • Considered low quality by the experts
  • Good for commercial cooking purposes

Pure Olive Oil

  • Blend of extra virgin or virgin olive oil with a refined form of oil
  • Bland, and almost colorless oil
  • Contain at least 10% virgin oil and oleic acid between 3-4%
  • Higher smoke point and less apparent flavor than virgin oils
  • Lightest true flavor of olives

Olive Pomace Oil

  • Lowest quality olive oil
  • Extracted from the residue after the fruit is pressed
  • Virgin oil is mixed to help to improve the quality
  • Lack of heart-healthy antioxidants
  • It can add potentially cancer-causing compounds

Lite Olive Oil

  • Light Olive Oil and Extra Light Olive Oil are the lowest grades
  • Only the flavor is lighter as less than 10% virgin olive oil is added to light oils.
  • It has none of the nutritional values of antioxidants that give olive oil its unique character.